王日祥 | WONG Jing

No details


Wong Jing was born in Hong Kong in 1955, the son of famed film director Wong Tin-lam. He studied at Pui Ching Middle School, and graduated from the Chinese Department at Chinese University of Hong Kong. After a stint as a continuity clerk when he was 17, Wong started working part-time for TVB when he was still a university student, writing scripts for short dramas. He joined TVB in 1975 as a scriptwriter and became a full-time script supervisor in 1977 before being promoted to assistant creative director the following year. During this time, he was responsible for such TV series as The Shell Game, The Good, The Bad And The Ugly and The Giant.

In 1980, Wong signed a project-based contract with Shaw Brothers and directed his first feature film, Challenge of the Gamesters (1981). In 1982, Wong was signed to the studio on a long-term basis. In the late 1980s, Wong started the Romancing Star series of films, which took in some HK$20 million at the box office. In 1989, he featured Chow Yun-fat and Andy Lau in God of Gamblers, which grossed over $37 million and inaugurated a trend for gambling films.

In 1991 Wong cast Stephen Chow in a series of comedies such as Tricky Brains (1991) and Royal Tramp (1992), which became big hits, garnering over HK$30 million and HK$40 million, respectively. At this time, there was a great need in Hong Kong and Taiwan for erotica, and Wong began churning out such films in great numbers, becoming one of the top-grossing Category 3 film directors in Hong Kong. In the process, he turned many actresses into stars, for example Loletta Lee, Chingmy Yau and Ewong Yung. Wong also frequently appeared in his own films in cameo or even supporting roles.

Wong was the recipient of the Hong Kong Film Critics Society’s Best Screenplay awards for two successive years, in 2005 and 2006, respectively for Colour Of The Loyalty and Wo Hu (the latter written in collaboration with Gary Tang Tak-hey). The two films were also selected as recommended films by the Society. In 1999, he was nominated for Best Original Screenplay at the Golden Horse Awards in Taiwan.

Wong’s films, particularly commercial films like the Romancing Star series, were often criticized for their vulgarity and penchant for scatological humor. However, Wong does not mind such criticisms, claiming that the low-brow jokes satisfied market demands, a claim supported by box office numbers of his films.

In a career spanning over 30 years, Wong has directed, written or produced over 200 films, which grossed in excess of an astonishing and awe-inspiring HK$1 billion at the box office. His 2012 film The Last Tycoon was considered one of the most serious and brilliant films of its kind, even though some critics credit the film’s artistic success to executive producer Andrew Lau Wai-keung, yet it is impossible to deny the contribution of Wong, who wrote and directed the film. Wong’s latest film to date is From Vegas to Macau (2014)(co-directed with Billy Chung Siu-hung), starring Chow Yun-fat, Nicholas Tse and Chapman To.

Year Chinese name English name Directors
2013 《笑功震武林》
Princess and Se7en Kung Fu Masters KEUNG Kwok Man Venus
2013 《笑功震武林》
Princess and Seven Kung Fu Masters KEUNG Kwok Man Venus
2013 《爛滾夫鬥爛滾妻》
Mr. and Mrs. Player
2012 《爛賭夫鬥爛賭妻》
Mr. & Mrs. Gambler
2012 《大上海》
The Last Tycoon
2012 《嫁個100 分男人》
Marrying Mr. Perfect
2011 《無價之寶》
Treasure Hunt KEUNG Kwok Man Venus
2011 《猛男滾死隊》
Men Suddenly In Love
2011 《財神客棧》
Treasure Inn YUEN Corey
2011 《猛鬼愛情故事》
Hong Kong Ghost Stories KONG Patrick
2010 《未來警察》
Future X-Cops
2010 《撕票風雲》
Black Ransom KEUNG Kwok Man Venus
2010 《美麗密令》
Beauty on Duty
2009 《旺角監獄》
To Live And Die In Mongkok CHUNG Siu Hung Billy
2009 《大內密探零零狗》
On His Majesty's Secret Service
2009 《金錢帝國》
I Corrupt All Cops
2008 《我老婆係賭聖》
My Wife Is a Gambling Maestro
2007 《東方海盜傳奇》
Eastern Legend
2006 《野蠻秘笈》
My Kung Fu Sweetheart
2006 《提防老千》
Wise Guys Never Die
2005 《黑白戰場》
Colour Of The Loyalty CHUNG Siu Hung Billy
2005 《雀聖》
Kung Fu Mahjong CHUNG Siu Hung Billy
2005 《黑白戰場》
Color Of The Loyalty
2005 《雀聖2 自摸天后》
Kung Fu Mahjong 2
2004 《精裝追女仔2004》
Love is a Many Stupid Thing KO Sin Ming
2004 《2004 新紮師兄》
Moving Targets LAU Bowie
2004 《性感都市》
Sex And The Beauties
2003 《黑白森林》
Colour of the Truth MAK Chi Sin Marco
2003 《絕種鐵金剛》
The Spy Dad
2003 《黑白森林》
Color of the Truth
2003 《絕種好男人》
2001 《我的野蠻同學》
My Schoolmate, The Barbarian CHUNG Siu Hung Billy
2001 《有情飲水飽》
Love Me, Love My Money
2001 《我的野蠻同學》
My School Mate, the Barbarian
2001 《情迷大話王》
Everyday is Valentine
2000 《笨小孩》
Crying Heart
1999 《賭俠大戰拉斯維加斯》
The Conmen in Vegas
1999 《強姦終極篇之最後羔羊》
Raped By An Angel 4 The Rapist's Union
1999 《千王之王2000》
The Tricky Master
1999 《黑馬王子》
Prince Charming
1998 《夜半無人屍語時》
Step Into the Dark TSO Kin Nam
1998 《龍在江湖》
A True Mob Story
1998 《賭俠1999》
The Conman
1998 《新戀愛世紀》
Love Generation Hong Kong
1997 《愛上百分百英雄》
We're No Bad Guys
1996 《運財智叻星》
Twinkle Twinkle Lucky Star
1996 《賭神3 之少年賭神》
God of Gamblers 3 – The Early Stage
1996 《古惑女之決戰江湖》
Sex and Dangerous
1995 《賭聖2 街頭賭聖》
The Saint of Gamblers
1995 《鼠膽龍威》
High Risk
1994 《新邊緣人》
To Live and Die in Tsimshatsui LAU Andrew
1994 《戀愛的天空》
Modern Romance LAU Andrew LEE Lik Chee LAM Wai Lun
1994 《新英雄本色》
Return to a Better Tomorrow
1994 《九品芝麻官白面包青天》
Hail the Judge
1994 《珠光寶氣》
Whatever You Want
1994 《洪熙官》
The New Legend of Shaolin
1994 《賭神》
God of Gamblers Return
1993 《武俠七公主》
Holy Weapon CHAN Kwok Sun Dennis
1993 《至尊三十六計之偷天換日》
Perfect Exchange
1993 《追男仔》
Boys are Easy
1993 《倚天屠龍記之魔教教主》
The Kung Fu Cult Master
1993 《逃學威龍Ⅲ之龍過雞年》
Fight Back to School III
1993 《超級學校霸王》
Future Cops
1993 《城市獵人》
City Hunter
1993 《黃飛鴻鐵雞鬥蜈蚣》
Last Hero in China
1993 《笑俠楚留香》
Legend of the Liquid Sword
1992 《逃學英雄傳》
Truant Hero CHAN Kwok Sun Dennis
1992 《逃學英雄傳》
Truant Heroes
1992 《賭城大亨之新哥傳奇》
Casino Tycoon
1992 《鹿鼎記II 神龍教》
Royal Tramp II
1992 《賭城大亨II 之至尊無敵》
Casino Tycoon II
1992 《鹿鼎記》
Royal Tramp
1991 《驚天12 小時》
The Last Blood
1991 《贏錢專家》
Money Maker
1991 《賭俠II 上海灘賭聖》
God of Gamblers III Back to Shanghai
1991 《整蠱專家》
Tricky Brains
1991 《與龍共舞》
Dance with the Dragon
1990 《靚足100 分》
Perfect Girls
1990 《賭俠》
God of Gamblers II
1990 《絕橋智多星》
The Big Score
1989 《至尊無上》
Casino Raiders HEUNG Jimmy
1989 《專釣大鱷》
Crocodile Hunter
1989 《神勇雙妹嘜》
Doubles Cause Troubles
1989 《賭神》
God Of Gamblers
1988 《求愛敢死隊》
How To Pick Girls Up!
1988 《精裝追女仔之2》
The Romancing Star 2
1988 《撞邪先生》
Mr. Possessed
1988 《最佳損友》
The Crazy Companies
1988 《最佳損友闖情關》
The Crazy Companies 2
1987 《精裝追女仔》
The Romancing Star
1987 《爛賭英雄》
Born To Gamble
1986 《魔翡翠》
Magic Crystal
1985 《摩登仙履奇緣》
Girl With the Diamond Slipper
1985 《鬼馬飛人》
The Flying Mr. B
1984 《南斗官三鬥北少爺》
Wits Of The Brats LAU Kar Wing
1984 《我愛羅蘭度》
I Love Lolanto
1984 《青蛙王子》
Prince Charming
1983 《花心大少》
Hong Kong Playboys
1982 《獵魔者》
Mercenaries from Hong Kong
1982 《賊王之王》
Winner Takes All
1981 《千王鬥千霸》
Challenge of the Gamesters